Login

November is Gluten Free Month:

Posted on November 02, 2015 by Beth Hartman

November is Gluten-free Diet Awareness Month and to celebrate, the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) would like to salute the retailers and restaurants that support the celiac disease and gluten-free communities.

Many eateries have trained through NFCA's GREAT Kitchens program, are helping thousands of families across the country eat safely.

 GREAT Kitchens is a gluten-free training course designed for managers, chefs and staff in the food-service industry. The course is available online and teaches core competencies including ingredient storage, safety protocols and cross-contamination avoidance. Restaurants that complete GREAT Kitchens have the knowledge and tools to meet the needs of gluten-free customers.

 What can I eat on a Gluten Free Diet??

Cutting out gluten from your diet may seem like a difficult and limiting task. Fortunately, there are many healthy and delicious foods that are naturally gluten-free! In fact, the most cost-effective and healthy way to follow the gluten-free diet is to seek out these naturally gluten-free food groups, which include:

Fruits

Vegetables

Meat and poultry

Fish and seafood

Dairy

Beans, legumes, and nuts

**Pure wheat grass and barley grass are gluten-free, but there is gluten in the seeds. If they are not harvested or handled correctly, there is risk of contamination.**

 What About Grains?

 While grains that contain gluten are out, there are many naturally gluten-free grains that you can enjoy in a variety of creative ways. Many of these grains can be found in your local grocery store, but some of the lesser-known grains may only be found in specialty or health food stores. It is not recommended to purchase grains from bulk bins because of the possibility for cross-contact with gluten. The following grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free:

Cassava

Corn (maize)                                                 

Soy

Potato

Tapioca

Beans

Sorghum

Quinoa

Millet

Buckwheat Groats (also known as kasha)

Arrowroot

Amaranth

Teff

Flax

Chia

Yucca

Gluten-free oats

Nut flours

 There has been some research that certain naturally gluten-free grains may contain gluten from cross-contact with gluten-containing grains through harvesting and processing. If you are concerned about the safety of a grain, purchase only versions that are tested for the presence of gluten and contain less than 20 ppm.

 Gluten-Free Substitutes

 Many items that usually contain gluten have gluten-free alternatives that are widely available in most grocery stores, and make living gluten-free much easier. Keep in mind, however, that minimally processed fresh foods are a crucial part of a healthy gluten-free diet. It is very important to base your diet around fruits, vegetables, meats, and other healthy food groups listed above.

 Many commercially available products are labeled “gluten-free,” but there will be some that are not; this is why proper label reading is important. It is also important to remember that “wheat-free” does not necessarily mean “gluten-free.” Be wary, as many products may appear to be gluten-free, but are not.

 As a rule, traditional wheat products such as pastas, breads, crackers, and other baked goods are not gluten-free. However, there are many gluten-free options available that use alternative flours and grains. Health food stores have a wide variety of options, but commercial grocery stores are also beginning to carry a sizeable number of gluten-free products. Often, gluten-free bread can be found in the freezer section. Additionally, there are gluten-free flours and flour blends available, allowing you to bake your own bread.

 Cereals

 Many cereals contain gluten or wheat-based ingredients, but there are some that do not. Be on the lookout for the “gluten-free” label, but also realize that not all gluten-free cereals will advertise as such, so it is important to check the list of ingredients. Something to watch out for: cornflakes and puffed rice cereal may contain malt flavoring or extract, which contains gluten!  You have to constantly be aware of what the ingredients are made up of.

 Oats

 Oats are often harvested and processed with the same equipment that is used for wheat, and are therefore easily contaminated. Research indicates that pure, uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to ½ cup dry rolled oats daily) are tolerated by most people with celiac disease. Look for oats specifically labeled gluten-free in all products containing oats, including granolas and granola bars.

 Soups and Sauces

 Soups and sauces are one of the biggest sources of hidden gluten, as many companies use wheat as a thickener. It is always a good idea to read the label of any pre-prepared or canned soups and sauces, paying special attention to those that are cream-based.

  Produce

 Fresh and frozen fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. However, it is important to read labels on any processed fruits and veggies, as well as dried fruit and pre-prepared smoothies. Additionally, packaged frozen potatoes are not always gluten-free, and labels should be read carefully when considering these products.

 Beverages

Most beverages are gluten-free, including juices, sodas, and sports drinks. Alcoholic beverages, including wines and hard liquor/distilled liquors/hard ciders are also gluten-free. However, beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. There are several brands of gluten-free beers available in the United States and abroad.

 Medicines

 Not all medicines and vitamins are gluten-free, so make sure to read the label before you buy.

 Remember, before considering embarking on a Gluten Free diet, consult your physician to make sure this type of diet is right for you. 

 

Previous Next